IDFA is seeking nominations of individuals for its 2020 Food Safety Leadership Award to be presented during Dairy Forum 2020 at The Westin Kierland Resort in Scottsdale, Ariz., Jan. 26-29, 2020.

The award, now in its fourth year, will honor an individual from our membership who demonstrates outstanding leadership toward enhancing food safety within the dairy products industry. The award alternates between honoring companies or groups in odd years and individuals in even years.

To qualify this year, nominees must be individual employees of an IDFA member company that processes, manufactures, markets or distributes dairy products in North America. Previous recipients are not eligible to be nominated.

This year’s winner may receive free registration, airfare and hotel accommodations to attend Dairy Forum 2020.

IDFA presented the inaugural award in 2017 to Cornell University’s Dairy Foods Extension Team and the 2018 award to Brian Kraus, director of food safety and regulatory compliance for Wells Enterprises, Inc., which makes Blue Bunny ice cream and other frozen desserts. In 2019, the winning company was the Ice Cream Club, Inc., represented by Rich and Heather Draper. 

Criteria for Nominations

Cover letter

Submit a cover letter that includes name of the nominee, a summary of the achievements, and name of the company or group. Individuals may nominate: themselves, colleagues from the same company or group, or peers from other companies and groups.

Food safety leadership achievements

List specific activities and outcomes achieved during the past two years that would be considered significant food safety leadership achievements or accomplishments, such as developing a process or procedure that increased food safety; initiating and/or participating in the development and/or implementation of new food safety guidance and/or training for the industry; conducting research that made a specific contribution to food safety; and writing or co-authoring papers that were published in recognized peer-reviewed journals or magazines.

Originality of work

Describe the originality, creativity and quality of the contribution and note the significance and importance of the contribution to the industry. Provide documentation that supports the effectiveness of the effort.

Peer assessment of nominee

Provide two letters of support from professional peers.

Nomination deadline and submission

The nomination period will open August 1, 2019, and close Sept. 30, 2019. Nominations should be sent to John Allan, IDFA vice president of regulatory affairs and international standards, at

The criteria for nominations are available at IDFA Food Safety Leadership Award.