making a difference for dairy
Be Heard

Regulatory RoundUp

Get Involved

Advocacy: Dairy Counts

Join the Discussion

Dairy Forum

Dairy Delivers℠: The Economic Impact of Dairy Products
Advocacy: Dairy Counts
FDA Milk Safety Memoranda
Tariff Schedules
Buyers' Guide
Member Hotlines
Dairy Market Prices
Quick Links

Dairy Facts 2016

March 31 Is Deadline for Safety Awards

Mar 11, 2015

IDFA is accepting applications for the 11th annual Dairy Industry Safety Recognition Awards until March 31, 2015. These awards honor processing facilities and trucking operations for outstanding worker safety performance.

Processing facilities are judged in four product categories: natural and processed cheese; dry, condensed, and evaporated products; ice cream and frozen desserts; and fluid milk. Within each product category, there are awards for small, medium and large facilities that achieve the best overall safety performance rates based on the OSHA data. Trucking operations will receive certificates for having no lost days and no cases involving job transfers or restrictions.

For 2015, applicants will be judged on specific data required by the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) on the facility’s “Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses” report (OSHA Form 300A). IDFA also collects information about leading indicators in the application to enhance awareness and understanding of these indicators.

The 2015 entry form is available here, and there is no fee to enter.

For more information, contact Emily Lyons, director of regulatory affairs and counsel, at

Dairy Delivers