Safety Recognition Awards

Photo: Lactalis American Group

The annual Dairy Industry Safety Recognition Awards program, co-sponsored by IDFA and Dairy Foods magazine, honors U.S. dairy facilities and trucking operations for outstanding worker safety. Now in its 21st year, the program continues to demonstrate that the safety of our people and our food is the dairy industry’s number one priority.

Processing and Trucking Operations

Dairy processing and trucking operations will be judged on occupational injury and illness performance rates, which are recorded in each operation’s “Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses” report (Occupational Safety and Health Administration Form 300A). Companies are required to post their OSHA 300A forms from February 1 through April 30 following the year covered by the form. Applicants will also provide a written essay explaining the components of their safety and health programs.


To be eligible for an award, a processing facility or transportation operation must implement an effective and innovative health and safety program and have illness and injury rates below industry averages reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Companies must be an IDFA member to enter, and there is no fee to enter.

Application Period

IDFA is now accepting applications for the 2024 Dairy Industry Safety Recognition Awards. The 2024 award program rules, regulations and application form are available here. The deadline for applications is May 30, 2024.

Please contact Danielle Quist at for more information.

2023 Outstanding Awards in Workers Safety

Agri-Mark/ Cabot Creamery Cooperative

Crystal Farms Dairy Company

Fairlife, LLC


The Kroger Co.

Lactalis American Group

Michigan Milk Producers Association

Nelson-Jameson, Inc.

2023 Most Improved Award in Workers Safety


The Kroger Co.

“Each awardee is a shining example of how to implement innovative and proactive approaches to workplace safety. Year after year, dairy companies go above and beyond to provide a safe and productive work environment. Consumers and customers of dairy foods companies value how these innovations help to deliver safe, wholesome and nutritious food to people around the world.”

Michael Dykes, D.V.M., IDFA President and CEO

Staff Contact

Danielle Quist

Vice President, Regulatory Affairs and Counsel