making a difference for dairy
Be Heard

Regulatory RoundUp

Get Involved

Advocacy: Dairy Counts

Join the Discussion

Dairy Forum

Dairy Delivers℠: The Economic Impact of Dairy Products
Advocacy: Dairy Counts
Knowledge Center
FDA Milk Safety Memoranda
Tariff Schedules
State Legislative Affairs
Buyers' Guide
Member Hotlines
Dairy Market Prices
Quick Links


House Republicans Name Ag Committee Members; Leaders Remain

Dec 12, 2012

Republicans in the House of Representatives have named seven new members to serve on the House Committee on Agriculture. Another member, possibly from a Southern state, also is expected to be named. That would bring the ratio of GOP members to Democrats, currently 26-20, to 25-21 in the next Congress.

Leadership on the committee will stay the same. Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK) will keep his position as chair, and Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN) has been reappointed ranking member.

The new Republican members are:

  • Dan Benishek (R-MI)
  • Chris Collins (R-NY)
  • Rodney Davis (R-IL)
  • Jeff Denham (R-CA)
  • Richard Hudson (R-NC)
  • Doug LaMalfa (R-CA)
  • Ted Yoho (R-FL)

The outgoing Republican committee members are:

  • Renee Ellmers (R-NC)
  • Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)
  • Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)
  • Randy Hultgren (R-IL)
  • Tim Johnson (R-IL) retired
  • Tom Rooney (R-FL)
  • Bobby Schilling (R-IL)
  • Jean Schmidt (R-OH)
  • Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)

With at least five departures due to election losses, the committee has several openings for Democrats as well, but the new members haven't been announced yet.

For more information, contact Jerry Slominski, IDFA senior vice president of legislative policy and economic affairs, at

Dairy Delivers