making a difference for dairy
Be Heard

Regulatory RoundUp

Get Involved

Advocacy: Dairy Counts

Join the Discussion

Dairy Forum

Dairy Delivers℠: The Economic Impact of Dairy Products
Advocacy: Dairy Counts
Knowledge Center
FDA Milk Safety Memoranda
Tariff Schedules
State Legislative Affairs
Buyers' Guide
Member Hotlines
Dairy Market Prices
Quick Links



Flags of several nations

The Codex Alimentarius Commission

The Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) was established by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO) to protect the health of consumers and ensure fair practices in food trade.  The CAC has 180 member governments, including the European Community as a member organization.  It first met in 1963. 

Codex standards are adopted in most cases by consensus and are based on the most relevant scientific and technical knowledge. Codex is the only international forum bringing together scientists, technical experts, government regulators, as well as international consumer and industry organizations. In many countries, public meetings are held to receive comments on Codex drafts and to prepare national positions.  The importance of the Codex lies in the broad realm of influence it has over member governments and the consumers within them.

Codex standards and guidelines and more information material are available on the Codex website (

  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2012
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • All
Dairy Delivers